Posted by: doug308 | August 30, 2011

True Life Interviewing Pitfalls

Here’s another in the series of life’s lessons that we’ll call “Failure Favors The Ill Prepared”.

I got to follow up on an interview with one of my favorite clients today. You know, one of those customers that you really want to do a good job for. Well, this time things didn’t turn out as positively as I might have hoped. The story goes like this; the candidate does a phone interview about two weeks ago and the hiring manager seems to like him a lot. They get along well together, the candidate answers all of the technical questions right, and so they decide to set the site interview. Which is where the train comes off the tracks. First my candidate comes into the the interview physically looking pretty rumpled up. Not a great start. Then upon questionsing the manager finds that he knows virtually nothing about the project he’ll be working on (and that he is supposed to lead) despite the fact that I prepped him for 30 minutes on it and the details of the project are not only on the company’s web site, but in every trade journal printed. So, now he is rumpled up and ill prepared. Upon further interviewing the candidate gives every indication that he thinks less than a lot of his current employer and so rather than appearing to come to something more interesting he shows himself to be running away from something. Why? “I am always trying to find a place where I can make more money.” Beautiful.

The rest of the details of are too painful for me to relate. But let’s just say that this is not what you want to do to get a job kids. Instead; A. bring some pressed clothes to an away interview so you don’t look like a slob. B. take just a few minutes to pay attention when people are trying to tell you about the company you’re interviewing with. Even better, do some research on your own and try to look like you know what you’re talking about. And C. Don’t sell yourself as a mercenary.

I can’t tell you just how disappointed I was when I got the interview follow up from my client. Don’t be my next bad example.

Leave a Reply

Categories

